My boyfriend plays a game called ‘Guild Wars 2.’ He keeps trying to get me to play, but I really don’t have the patience for that game, but I am fascinated with the foods the gamers can create for their characters.

Bowl of peach raspberry swirl ice cream caught my attention and I couldn’t get it out of my mind. I would love to make this again with a custard base. I haven’t yet perfected the use of eggs in my ice cream base, but I will. I would also like to remake this with fruits during peak season.

The ice cream base is really basic to make, but have patience when straining the raspberry puree.

FSCN0290.JPG

Ingredients:

1 c half and half
2 c heavy cream
3/4 c granulated sugar
2 tbsp granulated sugar
2 cans of peaches (you may also use fresh)
6 oz raspberries
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp cornstarch

Directions for Raspberry Puree

  1. Place raspberries and two 2 tbsp of sugar into a food processor and puree.
  2. Strain puree to remove seeds. Whisk 2 tsp of cornstarch to the strained puree. Once dissolved, microwave mixture in 20 second increments, whisking after each, until the mixture thickens.

Directions for Ice Cream Base

  1. Drain canned peach juice (reserve some to add to your ice cream base if you wish). Place peaches into a blender along with 3/4 cup granulated sugar and 1/4 tsp salt. Blend until smooth. Feel free to taste the base at this point to determine if you want to add more sugar.
  2. Add 2 cups of heavy cream. Pulse until combined. **Do not blend or pulse the heavy cream for long or your ice cream will have the consistency of whipped cream.**
  3. Pour mixture into your ice cream maker. Churn according to manufacturer’s instructions.
  4. Once at soft served consistency, layer half of the mixture into a freezer safe container. Add some spoonfuls of raspberry mixture and swirl. Add remaining ice cream and repeat with remaining raspberry puree. Swirl as much as you like! Place plastic wrap or a lid on the container.
  5. Freeze for 6 hours or overnight.

I recommend allowing the ice cream to sit at room temperature for at least five minutes or less, depending on how warm your place is, before serving.

Feel free to eat the ice cream as soft serve if you don’t feel like waiting for it to harden.

Guild Wars 2 Bowl of Peach Raspberry Swirl Ice Cream