I’ve been on a smoothie kick lately and remembered how tasty my blueberry cheesecake smoothie was, so I decided to use the dark cherries I had on hand for a cherry cheesecake smoothie.

Instead following my last recipe, I had to modify it due to not having Greek yogurt. As with all smoothies, you can experiment as much as you want and change fruits.

I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m also thinking about using a flavored cream cheese for my next cheesecake smoothie.

Directions: In a blender, combine 2 cups frozen dark cherries, 1/2 cup soy milk (use more if your blender needs assistance blending), 2 tablespoons light cream cheese and a tablespoon of lemon zest (optional). Blend until combined. Taste the smoothie and sweeten as needed with 1-2 tablespoons honey or a sweetener of your choice. Blend until smooth. Whipped topping is optional.

*If you have Greek yogurt, feel free to use 3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt and 1/4 cup soy milk in place of 1/2 cup of soy milk. Adding Greek yogurt will thicken the smoothie for a creamier consistency.*

