Do you hate when you crave something hearty, but remember how complicated it can be to make from scratch? Yeah, that sometimes kills my vibe of having it.

On this day, I was craving a nice hot chicken pot pie. Could have traveled up to Ralph’s grocery store and got my favorite Marie Callender’s frozen pot pies, but didn’t feel like traveling. As you can see I was having a superb lazy day.

After realizing I had all of the essential ingredients, I huffed, puffed and dragged myself… two blocks to my local CVS and picked up a can of condensed cream of chicken soup.

After sauteing chicken, I added one 10 oz can of cream of chicken soup (filled the can with half water and half milk for a creamier consistency) frozen broccoli, peas and carrots.

pot2

While my mixture was heating, I cut my pie crust and placed it into two 10 oz ramekins, used a fork to poke holes in the crust and placed them in my toaster oven to bake. You may be wondering why I did this. I prefer to have a crust under my pie filling, but to prevent it from being soggy, I prefer to bake the crust for approximately 10 min or until golden brown.

pot

Once my crust was done, the filling was placed in the crust filled ramekins and topped with the remaining crust and two slits to vent. Since the filling was already heated through, I only needed brown the top crust. I would say it took about 20 mins to get the crispy texture I wanted.

pot3

Note: Yes, you can place the entire mixture in a 9″ pie pan, but for some reason I wanted ramekins.

I had enough filling to prepare at least two more pot pies, but decided to toss the filling in pasta for a quick bite to eat.

pot4

