I’m obsessed with peanut brittle made by See’s Candies. Each time I go to my local store, the brittle boxes are sold out. My timing obviously isn’t great. Figured I would attempt to make my own brittle. Made it once with my mother…when I was in elementary, so I figured it wouldn’t be that hard :).

cash

Ingredients:

1/2 cup white sugar
1/4 cup light corn syrup
1/8 tsp salt
2 tbs water
1/2 cup whole or halved cashews (or nuts of your choice)
1 tbs butter softened
1/2 tsp baking soda

Directions:

1. Grease a large cookie sheet and set aside.

2. In a heavy 1 quart saucepan, over medium heat, bring sugar, corn syrup, salt and water to a boil stirring until sugar is dissolved.

3. Stir in cashews. Set candy thermometer in place, and continue cooking. Stir frequently until thermometer temperature reaches 300 degrees F.  If you don’t have a candy thermometer, you can drop a small amount of the mixture into very cold water. If the mixture separates into hard brittle threads, it has reached the “hard crack” candy stage.

4. Remove from heat and immediately stir in butter and baking soda. Do not stir too much. Just until the butter and baking soda is incorporated which won’t take long. Pour the mixture onto the greased cookie sheet. With 2 forks, lift and pull cashew mixture into rectangle (or any shape you can get it into before it cools). Let the mixture cool. Break candy into pieces.

This recipe produces a small batch good enough for one or two people. If you wish to make more, please double or triple the recipe.

cas

