My goal was to make doughnuts, but I didn’t want the traditional glaze. After checking out which ingredients I had on hand, I decided to try a burnt caramel and sea salt glaze.

Never making burnt caramel before, I was nervous about how much I should burn the butter to get the perfect flavor. It honestly felt a little weird to purposely burn the butter. I’ve never done it before on purpose :).

Due to not having any frying oil on hand, I baked my doughnuts and wasn’t too please with their flavor, but the caramel turned out excellent and really gave the doughnuts a much needed boost in flavor.

Ingredients

  • 6 tbs unsalted butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • Sea salt flakes or basic sea salt

Directions

In a small saucepan, heat the butter over medium heat. Butter will foam, then settle. Continue to cook. The butter will begin to brown and develop a toasty, nutty aroma. Remove from heat once it reaches this point.

In a a separate saucepan, heat sugar over medium high heat. As sugar begins to melt, swirl the pan side to side to help the sugar melt evenly. Cook and swirl (do not stir) until the sugar begins to smoke slightly and is a rich amber color.

Remove from heat.  Pour in the browned butter and heavy cream. As it bubbles, whisk to combine ingredients.

Set aside to cool to room temperature. You may leave it in the saucepan or place it in a container.

Top as much of the caramel on your doughnuts as you wish and sprinkle with sea salt to taste. The caramel is also delicious on its own.

If you place the caramel in the fridge, it will harden, but can easily be reheated in a microwave.

