A friend of mines made asparagus soup and it was absolutely delicious. Her version tasted more like green potato soup, but I never had such a concoction and wanted to make it for myself.

I ended up not finding good asparagus at my local grocery store and decided to swap it out for spinach. After searching for a couple of recipes, there wasn’t much of a difference when it came to the ingredients for both spinach and asparagus soups. I decided to use a modified version of Ree Drummond’s recipe.

Ingredients
2 tablespoons olive oil
10 ounces fresh spinach
2 cloves garlic, finely minced
1/2 medium onion, chopped
2 tablespoons butter
1 medium potato
2 cups whole milk (or less depending on desired thickness)
2 teaspoons kosher salt, or more to taste
Freshly ground black pepper

Directions
Cut skinned potato into junks and boil until tender.

In a large skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the garlic and onions and cook, stirring constantly, until the onions are translucent. Add spinach and cook until wilted, 2 to 3 minutes. Add the mixture to a blender or food processor, pour in 2 cups of milk and butter and pulse until pureed.

Return mixture to the pan and cook over medium heat for 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Add salt and pepper to taste.

As for the salmon, I simply added salt and pepper and pan seared until done. Topped it with fresh dill.

I served the soup in a bowl and placed the salmon in the center. My bowl was quite large, so the salmon did not sink into the soup. If you don’t have a large bowl, I would recommend serving the salmon on a separate plate.

