I finally did it!

I’ve been saying I would make an apple rose dessert and finally had puff pastry on hand to make it happen. I unfortunately doubted myself going into the process, but didn’t give up regardless of the fear I had of it not coming out looking like a beautiful rose.

Sorry I didn’t take many pictures, but as I said, I had doubt.

20160330_180530
Serves 6 individual roses.

Ingredients:
2 apples (I used Gala)
1 puff pastry sheet (thawed)
4 Tbsp of brown sugar
3 Tsp of cinnamon
2 Tbsp of butter (melted)
Half a lemon or 2 tbsp of lemon juice
Water
Powdered sugar (optional)

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 375º F

Thaw puff pastry according to the instructions on the box.

Slice apples in half from stem to bottom. Remove the core then slice apples into thin slices.

20160330_165227

Place the apples in a bowl with the lemon juice and water until the apples are covered. Microwave for approximately 2-5 min or until apples are slightly tender. Drain water and place apples to the side.

When pastry is thawed, place on a flat floured surface and roll with a rolling pin until pastry is thinner than before. Cut pastry into 6 strips.

Take one strip at at a time, bush with melted butter and sprinkle the desired amount of cinnamon and brown sugar.

Overlap 7-10 apple slices on one half of the pastry with peel facing up. Fold the bottom of the pastry up to cover the apples. *The tops of the apples should still be exposed.*

Starting on one end, gently roll the pastry and apples to the other end of the pastry.

Place into a muffin pan. Repeat with the other strips.
*Depending on the size of the apples and the slices, the number of apple roses may vary.*

Place in the oven and bake for 35-40 min.

Top with powdered sugar if you wish.

20160330_181024

